Bottom Shelf Rating

Three angels are sent by Heaven to bring good to a world falling under the influence of darkness: Gabriel, the warrior; Ivy, the healer; and Bethany, the youngest and most human. They work hard to conceal their luminous glow, their superhuman powers, and their wings. Then Bethany meets Xavier Woods, and they are unable to resist their attraction to each other. But the angels’ mission is urgent, and dark forces are threatening. Will love ruin Bethany or save her?

First off, let me start by saying how completely psyched I was to read this book! At first. By the description, it sounded right up my alley. It held everything I liked in a story-angels, romance, fantasy. It was the beginnings of an intriguing story. But then I started reading it. Normally I would have been able to finish this book in two-three days. But the writing just made…me…zzzzzz! Um, sorry. That’s how I felt throughout the entire book. It took me about three weeks to finish and I started another book while I was reading Halo. I never do that. I like to finish one before I start another.

First of all, Bethany was not what I would say a convincing angel OR human. She wasn’t very relatable. Don’t get me wrong, she was like able just not relatable. I did like Xavier, the author created him to be a guy that most any girl would like.
I was thrown when she introduced a second guy, Jake Thorn. I didn’t exactly know where she was going with adding him. When the climax came, I didn’t really see it coming. The building towards it was very minor. The major fight scene was actually a small part of the book. I thought with this kind of book, there would be more action. You know, with angels and all.

In summary, I would put this book on the bottom shelf. I hate to give that rating to any book, but this one deserved it.

